Make it happen

In one of my previous jobs I had the good fortune to be mentored by successful business scion and noted philanthropist. During my various journey to the dry land I would seize an opportunity to visit his oasis for some inspiration quench my thirst for some worldly wisdom.

During one of our interactions, he asked me to give him my visiting card. Perplexed by his demand, I tentatively pulled it and handed him my card. He read out my designation and asked me about my primary job responsibility. “To take care of our company’s customers” I replied. To which he gave me a muse “is there a difference between a daycare and mother’s care?”

Bemused by his own take on me he further added.” When a child is hungry the ayah/nanny at the daycare would ask him what he wants to eat. While a mother will give a sweet or cake what the child loves, but didn’t know how to express the desire as the basic need was to satisfy hunger.” Similarly, you do not take care of your customer but focus to give them what they really need.

So you can’t ask customers want they want until you can define the real need.

… not if your goal is to find a breakthrough. Because your customers have trouble imagining a breakthrough.

You ought to know what their problems are, what they believe, what stories they tell themselves. But it rarely pays to ask your customers to do your design work for you.

So, if you can’t ask, you can assert. You can look for clues, you can treat different people differently, and you can make a leap. You can say, “assuming you’re the kind of person I made this for, here’s what I made.”

The risk here is that many times, you’ll be wrong.

But if you’re not okay with that, you’re never going to create a breakthrough.

We like to think of ourselves as a Customer Service company that happens to fly airplanes- Southwest Airlines.

To glorify God by being a faithful steward of all that is entrusted to us. To have a positive influence on all who come in contact with Chick-fil-A. –Corporate Purpose Statement .

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

